Definitely a Sunday movie. Not really a movie for a first date. well mainly not for heterosexuals I would say as a first date. Lesbians could go for it unless there was no vava voom. Then it could be awkward. it would be a good conversational point after I guess. The subject matter being that of lesbian life in 1940′s America. Or more to the point a married woman living a lie. It made me think of my own life and how hiding being gay is a way of life at times. Young gay and lesbian people today, truly do not know the pain endured by those before them. So they can walk hand in hand. I digress

The lead in this film being none other than Cate Blanchet. A rather sophisticated and slightly older lady. With a slight predatory aura about her.

I must admit I struggled with Cate playing a lesbian. I don’t know what it was, but something was a miss. I truly did not find her believable. Don’t get me wrong the actual story I was interested in. Kate Winslet, yes, believable in this type of role, Jennifer Lawrence, hmm yup probably Emily Blunt yes. Angelina, well that is always a winner. But Cate. AS a gay woman. I struggled. And the young Rooney Mara I just could not see the connection between the two. Maybe that was what they wanted, maybe, I was supposed to believe they were not really connecting like most people do when they first meet. Or is that just the online dating thing.

But it should be like that spark that you get where you can not be apart, you know that fabulous tingle but all I sensed was an A9 battery type tingle. You know the one where you lick both ends of the battery but it is more an annoying tingle on your tongue and actually can’t stop.

I guess for the women of that time, being gay, would have been difficult. You have the people telling you its wrong the press telling you you religion telling you. So acting on that wow factor would have been quite hard.

After all, it was only a few years after having the vote, and supposedly having rights to their children. Not sure what Americas time line was on that, maybe should have googled it before writing this. We come to the sex scene, well a sort of slight sex scene. Yes, Cate got naked but no we don’t see her fully it’s the side way profile shot. Rooney on the other hand obviously drawing the shorter straw and hade to do full nudity clause written in. Let’s face it no way they would tell cate that she was doing it nude. So, there is some skin on skin titillation. Hmm wee (scots for small) bit. After that night wow, what a night it must of been for they seemed so loving and well just together. I didn’t see that happen on screen, well just a tiny bit. Oh I know that’s how you would be if it was someone you truly wanted to be with.

https://youtu.be/EH3zcuRQXNo

Carols husband knows that she is into the ladies, however he doesn’t cope very well with it, even though they are no longer together. It is the old chestnut of, “If I can’t have you, I will do something to screw you over” scenario. Carol has had e previous female relationship which os why he is defensive. He feels threatened his man hood not able to cope with the fact this stunning woman does not get her boat floated by him. So when carol meets Therese, he knows he has to play dirty.

Therese is the very young, shop assistant she admits she doesn’t have her own thoughts, her choices are all of others. At first glance of seeing Carol from across the room we are lead to believe it was love at first sight. So after a couple of rather ill timed short visits they go away for a few weeks. Carol running from her issues asks Therese to join her.

So when Carol is threatened with having her child taken away from her. She freaks out. This is actually due to fact her husband had her followed and bugged, not with actual bugs, but the F.B.I way. He had their one night of passion recorded. He wants to prove she is an unfit mother and lacking in morals. She leaves Therese without actually telling her. She wakes up with Abby watching over her and they return home.

Carol is having a really bad time, where we are led to believe she is attending therapy. The reason for her visiting a therapist is never spoken of. But we can guess by the nature of the story that it is not for true mental health issues but to treat her gayness. After all, so many people were tortured and placed into asylums for being gay. I must say I am quite glad that was never on the table for me. And I am fully appreciative of what has gone before me to allow my freedom.

Therese does not hear or see from carol, she is lost. However, her career takes a jolt and she is working for the times paper and now has a career. Going cold turkey on not speaking to someone you love or loved, is quite hard. Trust me. so Therese tries once to call, but carol does not say anything on the phone. We then are taken to the pre court meetings with regards to the daughter. Carol get brave and can no longer deny her inner self. Telling her husband, he can take custody, for Carol knows she has lost her child. But she begs him to stop trying to hurt her and him. She states she wants full visitation. And walks out.

She decides to go in search of Therese, finding her she begs for her to meet, Therese makes it difficult at first, but then agrees to meet. Carol tell her she loves her wants her to move in and they can have it all. However, Therese who was always eager to please. Is now found her inner voice. Carol disappointed by being rejected goes on her way. However, while at a party Therese can see she does not belong there and goes back to carol. Film ends with a I found you smile.